Video CDs with subtitles

Anything relating to CD-i can be discussed in this forum. From the multiple hardware iterations of the system to the sofware including games, reference, music and Video CDs. Maybe you hold an interest in Philips Media and the many development houses set up to cater for CD-i if so then this is the forum.
Bas
CDinteractive Admin

Video CDs with subtitles

Post by Bas » Sun Jul 17, 2005 6:29 pm

To my surprise i got in contact with Bernard who is the author of the following thread from the old forum:

"Hi,

I want to create a VideoCD (1.1 or 2.0) with subtitles that are visible when the disc is played on a CD-I player. I made a program (in Visual Basic, I'm not a real programmer) that can convert a .sub or .srt subtitle file to the CD-I subtitle format (as specified in the vcd_on_cdi_41.pdf documentation on ICDIA.org).
I also own a couple of VCD's with subtitles (VCD 1.1 discs with Dutch subtitles using VCD on CD-I app version 3.1 or 3.1.1), and the subtitle format is identical to the one used in the 4.1 application, although the files are named differently. The only strange thing I noticed is that the very last caption (and only the last) entry is printed twice in all my official discs, this is NOT stated in the specification, so does anybody know the reason? Also does anybody know if Philips ever released VideoCD 2.0 discs with the 4.x application AND subtitles? (what titles?)
So I then tried to burn a VideoCD disc with the subtitles (using a subtitle file from a official disc to make sure the format is correct). I used Nero 6 and dragged the CAPT01.NL (Dutch subtitle file) to the CD-I folder of the VCD (that is all you should need to do according to the specs, the default settings in the config-file should not prevent the subtitles to show, when you enable the subtitles in the settings menu).